The Eiffel Tower- I’ve heard so much about you

With all the hype that surrounds the Eiffel Tower, I had half expected to be disappointed or underwhelmed by the actual sight of it… but I wasn’t.  As I craned my neck to take in the tower’s height, I kept thinking “this is really happening… I am really here… I am in Paris.” It’s one of those moments I will never forget, and it reminded me that I didn’t just love to travel, I needed to travel.

More after the jump!

When we decided to visit the Eiffel tower that overcast Saturday, we had no idea how crowded it was going to be.  As a New Yorker, you’d think I’d be use to it by now.  I’m not. The line for the lift coiled around the landmark like bad disease, and for €14.. no, thanks. It also didn’t help that one of the lifts is our of order for repairs.

A view of the line for the lift from the first level.

Your two favorite cheapos took the stairs instead, which only costs a reasonable €5.  The only drawback is that you can only access up to the 2nd level. Oh, and maybe also that you end up panting the whole way up.

600 some steps is no joke, but the views were worth it. The website has a great virtual tour of the 360 panoramic view of Paris if you are interested.

taken from eiffel-tower.com

I know many people will only ever get to see its iconic image in the pages of books and on the back of postcards. I feel incredibly blessed to have been able to visit Paris and see the Eiffel Tower in person.

When we were leaving, I overheard some meat head say to his friend, “Dude, it’s no big deal. They have the same thing in Vegas.”  I had the strongest urge to go over and shake the stupid out of him, but I  settled with a polite eye roll instead.  When you travel, don’t be that guy. Keep your mind open and don’t limit yourself to just doing, seeing, and trying the familiar. To quote Andrew Zimmern: “Please be a traveler, not a tourist. Try new things, meet new people, and look beyond what’s right in front of you. Those are the keys to understanding this amazing world we live in.”

La Tour Eiffel
Champ de Mars
75007 Paris
T: 33 (0)8 92 70 12 39
 
 Hours: Open every day of the year!
  • from 9 a.m. to midnight from 15 June to the 1st of September,
  • from 9:30 a.m. to 11 p.m. during the rest of the year,
  • At Easter weekend and during the Spring holidays : extended opening hours to midnight.
    More info here
Rates: info here
Transportation: The easiest way is by metro line 6 to Bir-Hakeim or RER line C to Champs de Mars-Tour Eiffel.  Other modes of transportation here
Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

